Tux ICT

ABJ photography & video

Linux Mint 13 RC first impressions

I just installed Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon on my Asus EeePC900. First I tried MATE, it shows the live desktop but during install the installer crashes 😦

Cinnamon looks great and works fine. Besides Cinnamon Gnome classic / fallback is also installed.
Why MATE won’t install I haven’t figured out yet. I’ll try to do it this week.

A total different experience gave my Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo M7400 laptop.
MATE live desktop shows op, during install the installer crashes ( again ). Then I started a live session using compatibilty mode, now I end up in text mode, X-server not configured 😦

Then I tried Cinnamon, it gave me a total blank live desktop, installing is not possible. Compatibility mode gave me the same experience as with MATE 😦 When Mint 13 becomes final I’ll try to upgrade to Mint 13 ( it is now running Mint 12 )

Unlike Ubuntu 12.04 Linux Mint supports non PAE processors.

Update : GNOME classic does not work on the netbook ” to many arguments, falling back to default session ”

Specifications Asus EeePC900 :

Processor : Celeron 900 Mhz
Memory : 1 GB
Video : 256MB onboard shared memory
Display : 1024 x 600
HD : 32 GB Runcore SSD

Specifications Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo M7400 :

Processor : Mobile Celeron 1,3 Ghz
Memory : 1 GB
Video : 64 MB onboard shared memory
Display : 1024 x 768
HD : 80 Gb

No screenshots this time, I’ll make them with the final version.

16 May 2012 - Posted by | Asus, Cinnamon, Fujitsu-Siemens, GNOME, Linux, Linux Mint, MATE, OpenSource, Operating Systems

3 Comments »

  1. The problem with Asus-900 and Mint-13 is, that you need at least 5,2 Gb of memory space for Mint-13, and the two fixed memory spaces in the Asus are just 4,2 Gb and 16 Gb. So you have to assign memory, which the Asus-900 does not allow.

    Comment by Inno | 28 September 2012 | Reply

    • I don’t use the 4GB SSD drive, the 16GB SSD drive is a long time ago replaced by a 32GB fast Runcore SSD.

      Comment by Arie | 28 September 2012 | Reply

  2. Have you typed ?
    xforcevesa nomodeset nosplash

    Comment by megasaputra | 13 September 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

